A Stroll in Duke

IMG_0322A few months ago I went with a dear friend to Durham in North Carolina. I accompanied him to visit Duke university, since he’s going to study there next year.

While he was in lectures, I took the opportunity to get to know the university. With my trusty camera in hand I took a personal tour of the University. I must say I loved it, I loved it so much that I decided to share these pictures in the blog.

I mostly walked around the West Campus in which the Chapel is situated. So most of this pictures are of the chapel.

IMG_0315

From the outside it has a neo- gothical  style. It reminded me of the Cathedral at Orleans, France – which I had the opportunity to visit right after high school- The difference, Duke’s chapel was built in the 1930’s while the Cathedral at Orleans was built in the Middle Ages.

IMG_0318The height, the windows, the light, everything about it reminded me of the idea of light, and trying to reach God through the skies.

A student there, explained to us that the chapel was meant to be the highest building in the University. Nowadays is not only the highest building on campus, is one of the tallest buildings on the county. This, just reinforced my idea of trying to reach God through heights.

IMG_0331 IMG_0332 IMG_0355 IMG_0346 IMG_0352The inside of the chapel just makes it more beautiful. I was lucky enough to get inside while they were playing the organ, so the atmosphere was so peaceful. Made you feel like nothing could go wrong at that particular moment, and that you could ask for anything in the world.

IMG_0344 IMG_0341 IMG_0340 Aside from the artificial lighting, the whole navel of the chapel is covered in stained glass, depicting several images from the Bible. These fill the chapel with colourful natural lights, that keep changing with the light on the outside. Imagine seeing that, while listening to the organ playing. It’s an experience I was so glad I had, I felt so good at that point and so full of hope that I actually shed some tears. IMG_0339 IMG_0335 IMG_0336I also took pictures of the public policy building, which felt to me like a bit art deco with a modern twist. But truth be told, after seeing their amazing chapel all the other buildings paled in comparison.

IMG_0329It may not be the oldest or more traditional university campus out there, but I felt that it is really beautiful, and worth sharing. I can’t imagine what it must feel like studying in a place that looks straight out of a movie. Most universities here in Mexico have an industrial sort of look. Not very pretty (Very modern and “cutting edge” if you want to describe in a kinder light.) So walking around Duke and playing the tourist was an amazing experience. It almost made me start an application for business school! That’s how inspiring this place is. If you ever have the chance, I recommend you visit it.

And the amazing plus is the city! You can find so many local and amazing restaurants walking around, and the people are so friendly they make you feel right at home. I’ll be sure to go back soon.

Lots of Love

Dany