The amazing and incomparable Audrey Hepburn.

Photo via Wikipedia
Photo via Wikipedia
Yesterday was Audrey Hepburn’s birthday, she would have been 86 years old. I know this might sound like a cliché, but I am a complete fan.

I have been a fan ever since my mom showed me the movie “Sabrina”. In there I fell in love with her; her attitude, her style, her class, her poise. She became a role model for me. (Maybe unconsciously that was my mom’s intention)

AHepburn10_V_21nov11_rex_b_426x639

But ever since, I have learned that she was so much more than just a pretty face, and this just made me love her more. Let’s be honest, the fact that a woman has so many admirers speaks volumes on her character more than her looks.

She’s mostly known for her Hollywood work; who hasn’t seen or at least heard about “My Fair Lady”, “Breakfast at Tiffany’s”, “How to steal a million”. But few people actually know little else of her life.

She lived through WWII, in that time she watched many horrors. She, like many others suffered the struggles of living on a war ridden country. During this period of time she danced -she was a great ballet dancer- to help the Dutch resistance. Even in times of peril, and great personal danger she helped in the best way she could.

NYHQ1988-0091

She worked with UNICEF since 1955, making it as time went by a really big part of her life. She was named goodwill ambassador for the organisation in 1992, and actually went to Somalia 3 months before her death, when she had already been declared terminally ill.

So, after getting to know this about her (and so much more, her biography is amazing to read) how could anyone not become a fan? As a doctor, one of her qualities I have tried to mimic is her love for humanitarian work. I know I haven’t been through half of the things that she lived, and probably I never will. But that doesn’t mean I can’t try to help others every time I can.

1280px-Audrey_Hepburn_Tiffany's_3
My favourite movie of all times is “Breakfast at Tiffany’s”. Who else could have made a character like Holly Golightly be so admired?
As a normal girl, I have always admired her style. She always looked so poised, elegant, timeless. You’ve never read that she did anything rude, that she cursed, that she got publicly drunk. She was a complete lady, and a truthful one. She didn’t have to pretend to be, it was something that appears to have come naturally for her.

I might be a cliché when I say I admire her, but she is truly an admirable person. There’s so much more to remember her by that just being a pretty face. Let’s focus on her braveness, her boldness, her class, her view on life. Let’s have more icons like her, more role models for young girls like her, and less icons that come from reality shows and are applauded for being vulgar. Let’s go back to being good.

“I believe in pink. I believe that laughing is the best calorie burner. I believe in kissing, kissing a lot. I believe in being strong when everything seems to be going wrong. I believe happy girls are the prettiest girls. I believe tomorrow is another day and I believe in miracles. ”