No quiero volver a la fiesta/ I don’t want to go back to the party

Image via Pinterest
Estoy corriendo, no paro, voy a toda velocidad. Siento el aire frío entrar a mis pulmones, llenándolos, dándome más energía para seguir adelante.

I’m running. I’m running and not stopping I go at full speed. I can feel the cold air getting into my lungs, filling them up and giving me more energy to go on.

La falda larga de raso de mi vestido se pega a mis piernas haciendo que me tropiece, la levanto un poco con las manos y sigo corriendo. Mis zapatos de tacón ya perdidos en algún punto del camino. Siento el pasto frío, mojado en las plantas de mis pies.

Sigo corriendo, no paro. Mechas de mi pelo se sueltan del moño elaborado que me hicieron en el salón de belleza en la tarde. El aire sigue entrando y llenando mis pulmones.

Atrás escucho el eco de la música de la fiesta que acabo de dejar. Mientras mas corro, menos lo escucho. Trato de correr más rápido para alejarme mas. Siento como empiezan a correr lagrimas por mis ojos, y escucho un sollozo de dolor que supongo viene de mi boca.

Corro, corro hasta llegar al lindero de lo que parece un bosque. Una enorme línea de árboles está frente a mi. A lo lejos sigo escuchando el eco de la música. Me dejo caer hincada ante esta línea de árboles. Dejo que mi pecho comience a jadear por el cansancio, y siento como regresan los sollozos.

Mi cuerpo se sacude con la fuerza de mi tristeza, de mi enojo. Me dejo caer en posición fetal sobre el pasto mojado mientras sigo llorando. Mi vestido se empieza a mojar mientras estoy ahí, siento el frío en los brazos, en mis piernas. Esto calma mis sollozos.

Siento la luz de la luna, intensa sobre mi. Como si no quisiera dejarme dormir ahí. Me estiro y me recuesto sobre mi espalda. Mis ojos arden con la mezcla de lágrimas y maquillaje corrido que hay en ellos. Apenas puedo ver lo que hay sobre mi. Uso mi empapada falda para limpiarlos y vuelvo a ver al cielo.

Ahí está la luna que no me deja dormir  y descansar este agotamiento aquí. A lado de ella veo una cantidad inmensa de estrellas. Como solo se pueden ver cuando no hay luces artificiales cerca.

No sé cuáles son las constelaciones, ni sus historias, ni el significado de sus movimientos en mi vida. Solo sé que ver esto me da paz. Por primera vez en meses siento paz. Siento que puedo bajar mi guardia. Me siento acompañada a pesar de estar sola.

No quiero regresar a la fiesta. ¿No puedo quedarme aquí? Aquí solo yo me juzgo, aquí sé que yo me quiero por quien soy. No dudo de mi belleza por no entrar en algo convencional. No tengo miedo de tener una opinión y que esto sea causa para que dejen de sentir atracción a mi. No siento como hombres descarados me desvisten con la mirada porque creen que pueden 

Aquí puedo bajar mi guardia y dejar que mi complejidad y mis capas salgan. Aquí solo yo me juzgo.

Aquí me siento hermosa, inteligente, capaz de todo. Aquí me quiero comer el mundo a mordidas. Aquí tengo esperanza de que alguien me quiera por quien soy, no por quien quieren que sea o por quien creen que soy. Aquí soy amada por mi y no por la idea de mi. Aquí sé que alguien va a hacer todo por amor a mi. No se va a quedar todo en palabras lindas para tenerme una noche.

No quiero volver a la fiesta.

La noche se vuelve más fría, una nube tapa a las estrellas y empieza a llover. Siento como cae el agua sobre mi, terminando de mojar mi vestido y limpiar mi maquillaje. Siento los sollozos llegar de nuevo, pero esta vez no siento dolor. Siento que vienen con esperanza. Y empiezo a reír. Esa mezcla entre llanto y risa cuando vemos que no hay nada perdido y que hacemos mas drama del necesario.

Escucho pasos cerca de mi. Me siento, pero no volteo a ver a mi acompañante. Veo a los árboles que no me dejaron seguir corriendo. Siento como ponen sobre mis hombros un saco pesado, todavía con el calor de su dueño. Puedo oler su colonia -ese olor tan familiar- en el. Lo siento como se sienta atrás de mi, pone sus brazos en mi y solo dice -“déjame llevarte a casa”.

Me levanto del suelo. Lo veo a los ojos y asiento. Me da la mano y me lleva de regreso a la fiesta. Sólo me queda esperar. Esperar que sea bueno conmigo, que ame lo que soy y no solo la imagen. Que no quiera sólo una noche conmigo. Esperar a que quite la armadura que tengo.

————————————————————————————————-

I’m running. I’m running and not stopping I go at full speed. I can feel the cold air getting into my lungs, filling them up and giving me more energy to go on.

The long skirt of my party dress clings to my legs making me loose my step; I lift it a bit with my hands and keep running. Long lost are my heels; and I can feel the wet, cold grass on the soles of my feet.

I keep running I don’t stop. My hair loosens from the confines of the chignon someone made for me at the beauty salon this afternoon, and I feel the tendrils in my face blocking my view. The air keeps filling my chest.

I can still hear the echo of the music from the party I left behind. The more I run, the fainter the sound. I try to go faster, so I can stop listening altogether. I feel the tears that start to run from my eyes, I sense, more tan hear to the painful cry that comes from my throat.

I run, run until I reach what I suppose is the edge of the woods. Before me standing proudly, there is a long line of trees. I can still hear the faint echo of the music.

I let myself fall kneeling in front of the trees, I feel my chest heaving with exhaustion, and I begin to sob.

My body is shaking with the strength of my sadness, of my anger. I let myself fall on the wet grass in a foetal position while I keep crying. My dress begins to dampen itself while I’m lying there. I can feel the cold on my arms, my legs. I turn myself and lay on my back with closed eyes, and now I can feel the cold grass in there. This calms me down.

I can feel the moon, bothering me with her light. Like she doesn’t want me to rest there. I open my eyes and they sting with the salt from my tears and my runny makeup. I can barely see what’s above me. I use my long skirt to clean them, and what I see is amazing.

There’s the moon that won’t let me rest, and alongside her there are the stars. I can see them so bright and so clear. The way you can only see them when there’s no artificial lighting close.

I have no idea which are the constellations, where are they, their stories or the meanings their movements might have in my life. I just know that in this moment I feel at peace. I feel like for once I can lower my guard. I feel accompanied in my solitude.

I don’t want to go back to the party. Can’t I stay here? In here only I can judge myself, in here I know that I love me for who I am. I don’t doubt my beauty because it doesn’t fit the conventional mould. I’m not afraid that my opinion will make me loose attractiveness. In here, there are no men blatantly stripping me from my clothes with their eyes, just because they think they can. 

In here I can lower my guard, and let all the things that make me so complex, and all my layers to come out. In here I feel beautiful, intelligent, capable of everything. In here I want to eat the world whole. In here there is hope that someone will love me for who I am, not who they think I am, or who they want me to be. I here I am loved for myself, and not for the idea of me. In here there is hope that someone out there will do anything for me, and I will do the same for him. Things will go beyond pretty words just to have one night under the sheets.

I don’t want to go back to the party.

The night grows colder; I see a cloud covering the stars. And rain follows immediately. Water starts falling on me, drenching my dress and cleaning my face. I can feel the sobs coming back, but this time there is no pain in them, and I start laughing. That mix between laughter and crying when we realize that nothing is lost, and that we tend to do more drama than necessary.

I listen to footsteps close to me. I sit down, but I keep staring at the trees. I don’t look at my companion. I look at the trees that wouldn’t let me run further away. A coat is laid on my shoulders. I can still sense the heat from its owner; I smell the all to familiar scent of his cologne. He puts his arms around me and whispers into my ear “Let me take you home”.

I get up; look into his eyes and nod. He gives me his hand and takes me back to the party. I can only wait.

I can wait and hope that he will be good to me, that he loves the person I am and not only the image. That he wants more then just one night. I can only wait for him to remove my armour.