Lucrezia

image via: www.100resilientcities.org
image via: http://www.100resilientcities.org

It was almost 10 years ago that I went to Europe for the first time. I was 17 years old, right out go high school, knew nothing of life and was quite impressionable.

On that trip a man told me “Lucrezia Borgia gave you her beauty, and her roman profile”. Of course, at that moment I felt extremely full of myself, just like any teenager who has her praises sang to.

Nevertheless, even with the compliments, I had to know who was this woman I had been compared to. After that trip, I read Mario Puzo’s “The Borgias”. To say, that I was completely unimpressed by the comparison would be putting it mildly.

Image via: www.biography.com
Image via: http://www.biography.com

My first impression of her character was that she was a selfish woman, that had committed incest without any regrets, and was a bad person. I didn’t like it. At all. But later, I read some more on this family and a bit more on Lucrezia. I realised that I had judged her prematurely.

Most of what we know of her comes from legends. There are no actual paintings of her. Some have been attributed to her figure, but even then we are not sure of it.

Image via: www.biography.com
Image via: http://www.biography.com

But thinking about it a little further, how come a woman became a legend in the manner she did, living in the times she did? (She reminds me in this a little bit to Catherine of Medici). She must have been not only beautiful as legend says, but strong and smart. Willing to fight for what she wanted.

We don’t know if she poisoned her enemies during dinner, we do not know if she had incestuous relations with her brother and father. What we do know is that she was married 3 times, that she had many children (many of whom died at a young age) and that in her later years she rose above her previous reputation and the relation she had with her family’s schemes and crimes.

Pope Alexander VI (The Borgia Pope) Image via: yareah.com
Pope Alexander VI (The Borgia Pope)
Image via: yareah.com

Nowadays, I don’t mind having been compared to a legend. Specially to that of a strong woman. There is so much to learn from her figure yet. There is so much more to learn about her, smooch research to be done. There are many books, movies, tv shows, etc. I believe that there is so much more to the real person behind the legend. And that there she deserves to come out of the shadows, learning the true self of a character, now that is a story I can’t wait to listen.

Lots of Love

Dany