Curry Carrots

image10-1As I’ve written before I love to eat. The only reason I like to cook is that I enjoy eating even more.

But as a doctor I tend to be self conscious of what I eat. Even if I am not a nutritionist, I have an idea of the food that will fill me with nutrients, and the food that will actually do more harm than good. So I try to practice what I preach, Eat food that gives you nutrients, and enjoy doing it. (I am AGAINST counting calories, I never have been able to do so.)

This is one of my favourite recipes for vegetables, carrots with curry. They are easy to make, filled with good nutrients and tasty.

image9-1

Ingredients:

  • 4-5 medium sized carrots. (washed and disinfected)
  • 1 tablespoon coconut oil
  • 2 teaspoons curry powder (I tend to use more, because I like them really spicy, so go with what you like.)
  • 1/4 cup chopped cilantro (Fresh)
  • 1/4 cup chopped green onion. (I use a little bit less, this is as well to taste)

image4-1image5-1

How to:

  • Chop the carrots in thick slices diagonally. If you prefer to have more pieces you can cut them horizontally.

image8-1

  • In a wide pan, put the coconut oil to heat in a medium flame. Allow it to be completely hot.

image1-1

  • Add the chopped onions, and move them on the pan until they are transparent.  (In Spanish we say until they are “acitronadas”)
  • Add the chopped cilantro, and move them around the pan. Don’t let either the onion or the cilantro to be burned.
  • Add the carrots, making sure all of them are covered in the surface of the pan. Sometimes I add them in different parts, depending on the amount that I have, so I can make sure that all of them are going to get crisp.
  • Add the curry throughout all the carrots. Make sure you cover them all. Stir them a bit.

image11-1

  • Cover the pan, and let the carrots to cook for a few minutes. Uncover them and stir them until they acquire a golden color.
  • If you want, you can add a little bit more curry.
  • Serve them, and enjoy!

image12-1

Lots of Love

Dany.