Endless Summer

IMG_1974

I have been missing for the past month, but I have a very good reason for it. I was enjoying my summer.

It has been a very interesting summer, personally and it has been a lot of fun. It took many unexpected turns, and it has given me some lessons that I had not foretold. I went to NYC with my sister for a while, and then the moment we came home we shamelessly added ourselves to my parent’s trip to Oaxaca. We were tired, and by the end I was nursing a nasty virus. But everything was so incredibly worthwhile.

The good thing was that we took a million pictures, ate a lot of junk food, walked a lot (This is the only reason why after all that food I didn’t gain 10000 pounds), laughed so much, cried a bit, did some shopping and spent some much needed time with family. I got so inspired by everything that I was overwhelmed with the amount of things I wanted to share.

So, in the spirit of summer, and because so many of us would love to continue living in vacation land, here are some pictures of my summer. You can be sure I’ll be posting even more things later on. This is just a taste.

Hello NYC. Our first stop the moment we checked in: the m&m store. There's never enough candy for one person.
Hello NYC. Our first stop the moment we checked in: the m&m store. There’s never enough candy for one person.
Summer in the city, even with the intense humid heat, makes it look like a fairy tale.
Summer in the city, even with the intense humid heat, makes it look like a fairy tale.

IMG_1160

I am, and promise that will always be a kid at heart.
I am, and promise that will always be a kid at heart.
And I promise to drag my sister and friends along while I goof around.
And I promise to drag my sister and friends along while I goof around.
See? a kid.... I put this on while saying
See? a kid…. I put this on while saying “The claaaawwww”. Total Toy Story style.
Of course, how could I visit NYC and not fill myself with museums and art? I still need some extra time though, I didn't finish!
Of course, how could I visit NYC and not fill myself with museums and art? I still need some extra time though, I didn’t finish!

IMG_1284

And of course, there was a point in which I transformed into the cliche'd tourist.
And of course, there was a point in which I transformed into the cliche’d tourist.
We even got rain!! I thought I was happy about it after battling with the heat... until humidity came along and my hair became a giant frizz ball.
We even got rain!! I thought I was happy about it after battling with the heat… until humidity came along and my hair became a giant frizz ball.
Beautiful Degas... need I say more? (Maybe in another post I will, because I truly love his work)
Beautiful Degas… need I say more? (Maybe in another post I will, because I truly love his work)
Love is life!!!
Love is life!!!
Only in NYC your taxi ride to the airport is a limousine... And this is not a joke.
Only in NYC your taxi ride to the airport is a limousine… And this is not a joke.
Can you see our tired (but happy) faces after a 4 hour flight and a 6 hour car ride?
Can you see our tired (but happy) faces after a 4 hour flight and a 6 hour car ride?

IMG_2035

From something completely cosmopolitan to an incredible cultural city in Mexico... It was a summer full of contrasts.
From something completely cosmopolitan to an incredible cultural city in Mexico… It was a summer full of contrasts.

IMG_1566 IMG_2086 IMG_1605

We were lucky enough to witness a
We were lucky enough to witness a “Calenda” front row. Seeing giant dancing paper maché dolls was an amazing experience.
And in the end, we had a great family time (that was much needed.)
And in the end, we had a great family time (that was much needed.)

IMG_2420 IMG_2438

We had the opportunity to visit Isaías Jiménez on his workshop. He is the son of the creator of the famous alebrijes, and he was kind enough to show us how they are made and recount his father's story. But that is another story completely.
We had the opportunity to visit Isaías Jiménez on his workshop. He is the son of the creator of the famous alebrijes, and he was kind enough to show us how they are made and recount his father’s story. But that is a whole different story for another post.

IMG_2556 IMG_2581 IMG_2365