Christmas Gifts

0dc58424fc85c4b1df6f4d22acc5f988
Image via Pinterest.

Due to some organisation issues in family vacations schedules, today we are having Christmas family dinner at my house. This month has been such a whirlwind of activities and emotions, that we didn’t have time to do any actual Christmas shopping.

Thanks to this, we decided that this year we were going to to a Secret Santa exchange of presents with things that we did ourselves. To be honest, I really do not know why we hadn’t done this before.

Even if we decided this three days before the dinner, the fact of thinking what to do for the person you are supposed to be giving the gift to. Considering “Hey, am I able to do something like that?”. Getting your supplies to create your idea, and  sitting down to do so. (Even if I did it while watching a rerun of the VS Fashion Show and eating a bag of Fritos) was something that I enjoyed immensely.

It took me about 20 minutes between learning I was giving the gift to my mum, and deciding what I wanted to attempt to do. I then told my brother, and he gave me even more suggestions on how to make it better.

And while doing it, every time I saw my mum coming close my reaction was something close to hysterical shouting “DON’T LOOK, DON’T LOOK!!!”

Overall, the whole experience was incredibly fun to do. Not only on the creative side (which in my part needed to be exercised), but knowing that you are giving something that comes directly from you. That shows how much you really know that person, and how much they mean to you was amazing.

I had read about it before in other blogs, even in the Barbie magazine when I was younger. I’m sure you have heard it more than once “When the gift is not store bought it’s a nicer detail for the person”, or “it is more gratifying”, or “they will appreciate it even more”.

Sincerely, the only time I had done this, was when I was still in catholic school, and in home economics class we did mother’s day gift, and a family gift for Christmas.

This week that I did it, and the creative process was entirely mine, always thinking of what would my mum like, and would make her smile was amazing. Even if my gift is not commercial looking in the end, what counts is all the smiles, fun and love put in the process.

Lots of Love as always, and Merry Christmas!

Dany