New Year’s Blessings

635845200979031950-1693487873_2016yay

Sometimes, we really have trouble understanding why do things happen. even when you tell to yourself “Everything happens for a reason”, it’s just hard.

Once upon a time, someone told me (and to be honest I can not even remember who did this) that the way you spend New Year’s Eve is the way you are going to spend the rest of the year.

My new year’s eve for 2015 was quite strange. There was a bit of laughter, a bit of tears, some love, some light and some happiness. So, a bit of a roller coaster. And so was my year – a complete roller coaster- there were so many highs and so many lows. So many plans that did not work out, but some new ones that helped my dreams take shape.

IMG_0283

I could not have foreseen that some of the things that happened (that i did not like) had to happen for me to appreciate others. I cried so much this year… that it made me appreciate the moments of happiness and of love so much more.

I have been so blessed, and I had failed to notice it. I have a job that I love, I finally had the guts to write on a blog (and keep doing it), I made new friends, I danced a lot, I laughed, I got closer to my sister and my brother. I found some new independence that I had never considered myself capable of; I found the path to my dreams, I got to spend time with the people I love, I reunited with lost friends, I traveled (I went to Disneyland!), I did new things, I got into the best shape I have ever been, i had new experiences, I gave conferences in medical ¬†congresses (and by doing so, I conquered one of my fears- and had fun!). I was able to say goodbye to people I love, I was selfish for once in my life… and I can tell you, it felt good.

IMG_2709

In the end, it was an amazing year. Full of changes, but changes that I believe will be for the good. There are so many things coming in the future, and as much as I believe it to be smart to prepare for them; I have learned this year that REALLY enjoying the here and now is a big part of life. And for that, and so many things I am Thankful.

Lots of Love

Dany